Mark Wilkinson OBE

Fellow of the Year 2010

As a British craftsman, Mark Wilkinson OBE is recognised by many as the era’s leading designer of fine British furniture.

He has received the highest praise over his career, including the epithet ‘the Mozart of kitchen cabinet makers’. He is the founding designer of Mark Wilkinson Furniture and Smallbone of Devizes, two of the UK’s best known kitchen design, manufacture and supply businesses.

Mark v2

With a strong commitment to education, he is a visiting lecturer in Design Creativity, at the University of the West of England and contributes to other design courses. Mark is widely lauded for his supreme contribution to design and education. In 2009 he was invested with the Fellowship of the City & Guilds Institute (FCGI) in recognition for his support for training and education in furniture-making and the design industries. In the same year he was awarded the medal of the Order of the League of Mercy (OLM) for his support of the teaching charity Dyslexia Action. In the 2010 New Year’s Honours List, Mark was awarded an OBE for Services to the Furniture Industry and to Charity.

The inaugural SBID Fellowship Award was presented in 2010 to Mark Wilkinson OBE with the British Consulate in Milan to honour his skill and contribution to craftsmanship in kitchen and furniture.

The investiture of Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire is the culmination of a year of honours for the designer, who is considered one of the finest in the World.


SBID received nominations for many outstanding individuals as possible recipients for this year’s Fellowship Award and the nominee panel considered all applications carefully. The Fellow will be a person whose actions have enhanced the creative world.

Nominations for the 2017 Fellow of the Year are now open.

Send nominations to

Past Winners

Fellow of the Year 2015

Theo Fennell

Jeweller – Silversmith

Fellow of the Year 2014

Bill Kenwright CBE

Theatre and Sport

Fellow of the Year 2013

Sir John Robert Madejski OBE DL


Fellow of the Year 2012

Liam O’Connor


Fellow of the Year 2011

Robin Gibb CBE


Fellow of the Year 2010

Mark Wilkinson OBE

Cabinetry Craftsman