Technical Panel

The strict three-tier judging process for the Awards ensures that all entries are carefully scrutinised for their technical standards as well as their creative calibre.

SBID understands that while design, when it works well, can lift the spirit and inspire, design is not merely a veneer that pleases the eye. In order for a building, product or even an idea to be deemed ‘well-designed’, it must be function well and be fit for purpose in addition to having aesthetic value.

The SBID International Design Awards celebrate all aspects of great design, from aesthetics to functionality. For this reason, the first round of our three-tier voting system is judged by a specially selected technical panel of experts. Each year, the group consists of professionals working in many areas of design and industry. The individuals are highly knowledgeable about the latest industry standards and technical innovations.

In the initial stage of the voting process, each entry in the SBID International Design Awards is subject to close scrutiny by our technical panel. This will include ensuring every entry adheres to industry standards and is genuinely fit for purpose. Any entries that do not meet our technical standards will not go forward to the next stage, which is assessed by our expert panel of judges, with the public contributing 30% of the vote.

This initial stage is crucial as it means we can truly and proudly affirm that all eventual finalists and winners have attained the highest possible standards across all areas. Thanks to the professionalism of all our judges, the SBID International Design Awards genuinely celebrate excellence in design.


David Doyle

Fire Safety Inspector

David is a Fire Safety Inspector with London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA) for over 30 years. He is the Chief Fire Inspector at Westminster Council and is a member of the Institute of Licensing and has represented the Fire Authority at various committees of the British Standards Institute (BSI).


Eva Greenspan

Lawyer / Architect / Chairman of Planning

Eva is a solicitor specialising in Real Estate and Planning. She is the former Mayor of the London Borough of Barnet (2006/2007) and remains today the Chairman of the Planning and Environment Committee of the London Borough of Barnet and Assistant Cabinet member of Housing.


Owner Luder CBE

Twice past RIBA President / Architect

Owen is a celebrated British architect and uniquely the only architect to have ever been elected twice as President of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). Past Chairman of the Architects Registration Board,the registration and professional regulation board for architects to practice in the UK. Owen is a member of the Academy of Experts, an expert witness and registered Mediator.


David Park


David is Managing Director of Cumberland Group, a high end quality refurbishment and interior fit-out contractor in the retail and commercial sectors. He is also the past President of the Retail Trust and the National Shopfitters Association.


Andrew Rolfe

Lawyer – Real Estate/Finance

Andrew was a Partner in Clifford Chance, specialising since 1988 in major infrastructure projects and property development work with particular involvement in the UK Private Finance Initiative. Cited as a leading expert in PFI/PPP.