Skip to main content
SBID Awards Ceremony
00days 00hours 00minutes 00seconds

Fellow of the Year

Each year, SBID selects an individual who has against all odds successfully championed a specific sector of the creative industries. The SBID Fellow is a person whose actions have enhanced the creative world. Nadia Swarovski was bestowed Fellow of the Year 2018 and previous Fellows include Sebastian Conran, Eve Pollard and Theo Fennell.

Learn More

Nadja Swarovski

Interior design is a growth industry. It is one of the most popular take-up degrees at university albeit the public perception and appreciation for the benefits of good interior design is progressing it remains misunderstood, under-appreciated and under-valued by associated professions. The SBID International Design Awards revere those within the creative industries who have shaped their specific industry sector and bestow the title Fellow of the Year, an accolade to reflect their achievements.

The central objective of SBID is to promote the profession at the highest level of competence while supporting the interests of professionally qualified interior designers and manufacturers. By guiding and measuring the profession’s trading standards through practice, competence and education, SBID creates a clear separation between professionals and hobbyists  and continually challenges the industry for positive change where size and dominance has reigned unethically, by exclusion, favouritism or anti-competitive conduct.

Sebastian Conran studio

Having set the trend that the UK design industry has adopted as standard, the SBID Awards serve to showcase the best of the profession worldwide through its celebration of extraordinary interior design projects and products. 

By the same token, SBID created the Fellowship Award in 2010 to recognise and celebrate people who have achieved success not just at a personal career level, but by improving the well-being and culture of British society through their work in their own creative field. This is an inspirational example to the interior design industry of associated creative professionals and how they have championed their profession.

This annual award is presented to an individual whose achievements have improved the standing of the creative industries at large. Nominees can be an individual working within interior design or anyone who has, in some way, changed or championed their creative sector around the world by talent, leadership and creativity.

SBID received nominations for many outstanding individuals as possible recipients for this year’s Fellowship Award and the nominee panel considered all applications carefully. The Fellow will be a person whose actions have enhanced the creative world.

Read about Fellow of the Year 2018, Nadja Swarovski, here

Do you know someone who would make a great SBID Fellow 2019? Send your nominations to [email protected]

Past Fellows

Nadja Swarovski

Fellow of the Year 2018

Read more

Sebastian Conran

Fellow of the Year 2017

Read more

Eve Pollard

Fellow of the Year 2016

Read more

Theo Fennell

Fellow of the Year 2015

Read more

Bill Kenwright CBE

Fellow of the Year 2014

Read more

Sir John Robert Madejski OBE

Fellow of the Year 2013

Read more

Liam O'Connor

Fellow of the Year 2012

Read more

Robin Gibb CBE

Fellow of the Year 2011

Read more

Mark Wilkinson OBE

Fellow of the Year 2010

Read more

Attend the Awards

Attend the SBID International Design Awards 2019 ceremony at Grosvenor House, Park Lane

Purchase Here